books

5 books I’m thankful for!

Hello there! Happy belated Thanksgiving!
So today on youtube I came across a video by Jesse the Reader about 5 books he was thankful for, and I thought it was such a cute idea, I decided to write a post about it!
The books are not in any particular order!

  • The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger. So, if you’ve read some of my posts, you KNOW this is my most most favorite book in the whole wide world! I’m actually so grateful for this book, I’m thankful to God that created J.D. Salinger so he could write it. Yeah, that’s how obsessed I am with it.
  • Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. I know, it might seem a bit cliché, white 20-something-year-old girl likes this book, but I’m inserting this here because this novel was the first proper classic I read as a teenager, and I liked it so much that I read it multiple times.
  • Queen Margot by Alexandre Dumas (father). My God, this book. I read it in High School, and I’m so thankful for it, not only for the wonderful story, but also because it’s set in a particular period in French history that was ALWAYS studied during my HS years, both for history and philosophy, and also in university, so I always felt like a step ahead everyone else. Apart from this, it’s so entertaining and if you love historical fiction, you’ll love this classic!
  • One Day by David Nicholls. I’ve read this book several times, both in English and Spanish (I bough a copy while on a trip in Barcelona). This is my guilty-pleasure read. I love the story, the characters and also the movie. It’s one of those novels you just breeze through, and I love how each chapter is set in the same day in different years, it just makes it so entertaining and interesting!
  • Outrageous Acts and Everyday Rebellions by Gloria Steinem. I couldn’t  NOT put a feminist book in this list. This is one of the books that really got me close to feminism and helped me understand what it was and why it’s so important! It’s a nice read, because it’s a collection of essays, that go from Steinem’s experience as a playboy bunny, to critical and ironic essays about what it would be like if men had a period.

So, I hope you enjoyed this little list of books I’m thankful for, and, it goes without saying, I really think you should read!

xx.

Ily

Leave a Reply

