books · Uncategorized

Reading in different languages

Hello and Happy New Year!!

One of my New Year’s resolutions is precisely this one: to read more in different languages. I am, after all, a modern languages student, so it’s only right that I merge my studies and what I enjoy most to do! I mostly read books in English, because I mostly read books by English-speaking or writing authors, but occasionally I read books by Italian authors as well, and read them in Italian (in 2015 I read only 9 books in Italian, 2 by Italian authors and the rest because I picked them up from the book store in that language!). I occasionally had to read some books in Spanish for my literature classes and some also for my French literature class, but nothing because I really chose to read them! Last year I read only 2 books that were in the original language (“Cronica de una muerte anunciada” by Gabriel Garcia Marquez in Spanish, and “Mes Amis Mes Amour” by Marc Levy in French), but this year I want to read at least 1o books in both languages. Reading is a great way to practice a different language, and it is also super helpful to interiorize grammar rules you may already know but do not use. I’m currently reading a book in Spanish by Isabel Allende called “El Cuaderno de Maya”, and I’ve already bought for Christmas for myself 2 books in French I hope I’ll enjoy! One is “Le Bal” by Irene Nemirovsky and the other one is “L’amour dure trois ans” by Frederic Beigbeder. Hopefully I’ll get to read both as soon as possible and I’ll be able to read at least 10 books in each language!

Cheers!

Ily

Leave a Reply

