books · Uncategorized

The best (and worst) books of 2015

Hello there! It’s been a while since I last wrote here (last post was the 20th of September!). I’ve been so busy in England, getting adjusted to my new life, I haven’t had much time to write, or read really! I’m deeply ashamed, but I think I’ve read about 3 books in 3 months, and obviously I haven’t gotten to my 100-books-goal for this year. I’ve actually read less books than last year (75)! I “only” read 63 books and I’m very, very sorry for this. I guess my New Years resolution is to read more – and set for myself realistic goals!!

Anyway, as I did last year, I decided to write a best and worst books of 2015 post, just to finish the year! Here we go: enjoy the ride!

Here are the best 5 books I’ve read in 2015 (in no particular order):

  • “Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage” by Murakami Haruki. I loved this book, and I read it in one day! I’ve talked about it already in a previous post, so read all about it here!
  • “Me before you” by Jojo Moyes. This book was so cute! Even though it can be described as typical “chick lit”, it really brings some different and important issues to the table and deals with these issues in a greeat way. I read they are making a movie out of it and there is also a sequel coming out. Can’t wait for both!
  • “Chronicle of a Death Foretold” by Gabriel Garcia Marquez. I have to say, I LOVE Gabriel Garcia Marquez. The last book by him I had read (“Memories of my Melancholy Whores”) was ok, but nothing really comparable to his other novels (Like “A Hundred Years of Solitude”, for example). I was so happy to read this book! It’s a very short read and it is so good, that only the Nobel Prize winner could’ve written somthing so perfect!
  • “The Painted veil” by W. Somerset Maugham. I think I read this book in a day as well. It was a great book that I really enjoyed. I loved the movie, so I couldn’t wait to read the book. At first I was really mad because the book is a bit different from the movie. SPOILER ALERT: in the movie, the 2 main characters (played by Naomi Watts and Edward Norton) fall in love, but sadly the husband dies. In the book this never happens: the two respect each other, but they don’t passionately love each other. So at first I was dissapointed from the book, but then I though about it more and realised it was a great book anyway.
  • “The Awakening” by Kate Chopin. I already talked about this book as well. I really REALLY liked it, and I thought it was a great read! I also read this book in only one sitting, at the beach! Everybody should read it. It’s a great classic and I think that my lit class would’ve been much more interesting if I had read it back then!

And now to the worst 5 books of 2015:

  • “The almost moon” by Alice Sebold. I had read “The lonely bones” by this author and I really loved it: I though it was original and very well written, so when I picked up “The almost moon”, I had great expectations. But unfortunately this book was horrible. Don’t bother. Save your time and don’t even try.
  • “Winter’s bone” by Daniel Woodrell. It wasn’t the worst book I ever read, but not even close to the best. It wasn’t credible and not very pleasant to read.
  • “Paper Towns” by John Green. I don’t like John Green that much, but I decided to read this book because everybody was talking well about it. I did not particularly like it, all the characters got on my last nerve and even the movie was pretty awful. I have no clue why there are people that insist that he is a good author. That was the last book by him I’m reading.
  • “On the Road” by Jack Kerouac. I really REALLY wanted to like this book, but I didn’t. I did not care for it and I though Kerouac’s mysoginism was offensive. I understand why it is a revolutionary novel, I understand that it is a symbol of a whole generation, but as a woman living in the 21st century, I didn’t enjoy it and probably I won’t read anything else by him.
  • “The Heart goes Last” by Margaret Atwood. Ok, I’m putting this book in the “worst” category just because I expected so much more from this book. I love Atwood and what I’ve read so far by her was GOLD. But this book… it’s her latest, and I have to say, at the beginning, I really liked it and thought it was super interesting… but then… it got boring. I just thought this would be so much better and I was sorry to be dissapointed.

So these are the books I loved/hated the most. I’ve noticed that the books I liked more were more or less very short. It was also hard to pick out the books I liked the most from this year, so I’m glad about that. I’m also happy that only a few of the worst books I thougb were really bad. Most of those books were just not that good, but I didn’t totally HATE them, so that’s good as well, I think.

Hopefully in 2016 I’ll read more books and I have a New Year’s resolution: don’t read books I don’t like, and as soon as I realise I don’t like them, just drop them.

So have a nice 2016!

Cheers!

Ily

Leave a Reply

