books · erasmus

Birmingham, here I am!

Hello!

So, I haven’t written in a while, but just because I’ve been so busy preparing for Birmingham! I got to the UK 2 days ago, and I’ve never stopped going around, busy busy getting ready for Uni and getting everything sorted out with my new house!

Since University of Birmingham is outside of the Birmingham city center, I’m living in a little village called Selly Oak, and so far so good! The city center is really nice, full of shops and beautiful buildings! Last night me and my housemates went on to Broad Street – a street full of pubs and clubs, crawling with people. I think I have to get used to how the English girls dress to go out – it was cold but nonetheless they wore short dresses and no stockings – which shocked me! I guess I’m used to the Italian weather… maybe when my Erasmus year is over I’ll be that way too!!

Anyway, I haven’t been reading very much for obvious reasons, but I started a book I’ve been meaning to read for about a year: it’s called “Revolution from within” by feminist Gloria Steinem. This book is about self-esteem and why people don’t have and how to feel more empowered! The great thing about this feminist book is that, contrary to what a lot of people think, it’s not only for women, but it’s also super useful for men. I usually don’t read much non-fiction, but I’m really enjoying it because it’s not complicated and even thought the subject is intricate, it’s an easy read (I wouldn’t say it’s light though!), so if you aren’t used to reading non-fiction, and you are looking for somewhere to start, I’d advise you to start with this Gloria Steinem book – you won’t be dissapointed!

Anyway, that’s all for today!

Ily

Leave a Reply

