books

Re-reading books

Hello! In today’s post I wanted to talk to you about re-reading books!

I usually don’t love to re-read a book, even though I don’t remember anything of it, because as I read it, it all starts coming back to me, so I find it useless.

Occasionally, though, there are some books that I feel as if I NEED to read again, because they are so meaningful to me, that I must pick them up again. There are two books in particular that I re-read many times: Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen and The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger. The former was a novel very dear to me in my freshman and sophmore year of high school: it tought me about real and romantic love, and I absolutely identified with Elizabeth Bennet and was totally in love with Mr Darcy! Needless to say I watched the movie with Keira Knightley and Matthew McFayden many times (and yes, I have yet to watch Colin Firth’s performance of Mr Darcy, but I know I need too!). The funny thing is that passed that period of time that I kept re-reading Pride and Prejudice, I discovered some other books by Jane Austen, for example Sense and Sensibility, Emma and Northanger Abbey, and I actually liked more these books (in particular Emma), but still, Pride and Prejudice has a special place in my heart.

The second book (and my favorite book of all time) that I keep re-reading occasionally is The Catcher in the Rye, by J.D. Salinger. The first time I read it it was in Italian, and I didn’t really enjoy the translation, but something made me try it in English and the only thing I can say is that I loved it! The language is incomparable, it’s so rich and beautiful, and the main character’s point of view is so revealing and it’s incredible how Salinger could fit into Holden the insicurities and anxieties of a teenager of the 40s, and how all that could be applied to the feelings of a teenager in the 21st century.

When I’m stuck and I cannot seem to find something I like to read, I go back to these 2 books (especially The Catcher in the Rye) and I find the same familiar words that every time acquire a different meaning to me, as I grow older.

For a few weeks I’ve had a reader’s block, so I’m actually reading again Franny and Zooey, also by J. D. Salinger, and I’m enjoying it a lot, even though it’s hard for me to find a book I cannot put down.

That’s all for now!

Bye 🙂

Ily

Leave a Reply

