art

Tutankhamon, Caravaggio and Van Gogh

Hello!

This post is going to be about an art exhibition I went to see today! The exhibition was in Vicenza, a city near Padova, the place where I live. The art exhibition was in the beautiful Basilica Palladiana, overlooking on Piazza dei Signori, right in the center of Vicenza.

The title of my post is the name of the exhibition: the central theme was “The night”, from the Egyptians to Van Gogh.

S_copertina-quaderno

The first thing you should know is that Van Gogh is my favorite painter, and my favorite painting is “Starry Night”, so since the exhibition was about the night, I thought the “Starry Night” would be there, but sadly it wasn’t (it’s currently at the MOMA Museum in NYC, btw).

I have to be honest, I was pretty dissapointed by this exhibition: there were some beautiful works by Caravaggio and Giorgione, Turner and Church, and quite a few paintings by American painters (in particular Hopper, Church and Wyath), a few Monets and Gaugins, but there were only 3 or 4 paintings by Van Gogh and most of them didn’t have anything to do with the central theme! Last year I had been to another exhibition in the Basilica Palladiana, which was concentrated on landscapes, with particular focus on Monet, and it was wonderful! It had many paintings by Renaissance Italian artists, such as Tintoretto and Canaletto, many Van Goghs and 2 full rooms of Monet’s paintings: I really enjoyed that exhibition, and I would’ve gladly gone again! Today I expected a lot, I thought there would be a particular emphasis on Van Gogh, but this did not happen. I don’t think I’d go again, and I wouldn’t particularly recommend people to go see it: of course, there are some very beautiful paintings (like the one in the image above), but I think that they could’ve done a better job while organizing the event and even on the theme: I think that a more fitting title for the exhibition would’ve been “Sunsets” or “Lightness and darkness”, but surely not “The Night”. Anyway, here is the link where you can find information on the whole exhibition: http://www.lineadombra.it/eng/exhibitions/tutankhamon-caravaggio-van-gogh-en/la-mostra-en/tcvg-mostra-en/tcvg-mostra-breve-en.php#

Other than that, we got to visit Vicenza, which is always nice: it’s a vibrant and beautiful city, and I actually would recommend anyone to visit if they have a chance: you can find the Teatro Olimpico, built by the architect Andrea Palladio, which still has its original stage scenery, and has been the model for many other theatre and many other monuments and beautiful piazzas!

Anyway, I hope you enjoyed the post and my thoughts about the art exhibition!

Ily

Leave a Reply

