books

Literary WWII

11127_10204486558697768_8312248196902613973_n

Hello! Yesterday I came across this Tweet from Mara Wilson (AKA Matilda from the movie) and I thought it was hilarious!

I started reading the Twilight saga the summer between my 8th and 9th grade, and these books had just started to become popular (the movie came out that Oct): I have to admit I loved them and I actually read them more than once! I think that in a certain way they were important for the literary world: from that moment on the vampire-fantasy genre for YA fiction really started to become popular and if I tell you I didn’t read any more “vampire fiction”, I’d be lying. But Twilight really has a special place in my heart: I feel confortable saying that it was the voice of the delusions of a generation: find the perfect guy that is everything any girl could want, get married, be rich and have a kid. Oh, and you get to have superpowers too (Yay!). And yes, Edward Cullen was the 21st century’s Prince Charming, but I’m not gonna lie: I preferred Jacob Black (ahah). Most of all, though, you have to admit that Stephenie Meyers is a pretty good writer: you actually believed you were Bella Swan, you could identify with her feelings (in New Moon I was feeling the pain too, btw) and thoughts. Of course, I’m telling you what a 14 year-old felt while reading the novels: I’m not sure that if I read the books now I would feel the same way, but I know I did then, and I’ll always be a great defender of the Twilight saga (even thought the feminist in me totally dissaproves).

But let’s talk about what Mara Wilson calls “Literary WWII”: Fifty Shades of Grey. I don’t think anybody could’ve described it better. I’m not a bigot or anything, so the sex scenes aren’t what horrified me about this work. I started reading FSoG twice, and both times I couldn’t get past the first few chapters: not only the plot is boring (nothing really happens!) but the writing is so bad it hurts; FSoG would probably work as a parody of an erotic book, but as itself… no way. I guess what made it sell so many copies were the sexual parts of the book, because otherwise I cannot explain the success. I’m not an expert in erotic literature, but I’m sure there are many other books that were probably better-written and with a nicer plot. Of course, I forget that most of these books aren’t read because of the story.

In my opinion, as stupid as Twilight can be deemed, it flows smoothly and it’s an interesting (even though a bit sexist) love story, that can actually have a certain impact, while if you talk about Fifty Shades of Grey you cannot praise it in the same way (even though it’s actually a fan fiction of Twilight). Both sagas have their faults, but while one is a nice read, the other one is impossible to get through for a few of the reasons I wrote about above.

Anyway, thanks for reading my literary rants, I hope you enjoyed!

Ily

Leave a Reply

