books

1Q84

Hello! It’s been a while since I’ve written a post, but there is a reason: I was waiting to finish “1Q84”, the book by Murakami Haruki. This book was warmly suggested by my mother. She loved this novel and kept telling me I would enjoy it and if I had the strength to get though it, I would cherish it. Not only the book was long (about 1100 pages) but I also did not enjoy it. I couldn’t see the point in it. It took me a month to finish it, while usually a book that long takes me about 2 weeks; part of the problem might have been that I was busy, but I just didn’t like it. I kept going through with it because I thought the ending would enlighten me or change the whole thing for me, but unfortunately it didn’t. This makes me very sad, because so far I’ve enjoyed and loved all Murakami Haruki’s works, and to find boring and pointless what people call his best work… well it was just dissapointing. The book is pretty complicated, so I won’t waste my (and your!) time in trying to explaining what it’s about, but basically the 2 main characters, Aomame and Tengo, enter another world and deal with the consequences.

I won’t discourage you from reading the book: I’m sure some of you could enjoy it, and I have to admit it was beautifully written (as all Murakami Haruki’s books), but if you aren’t in science-fiction or stories of different worlds, don’t attempt it, you will waste your time!

Anyway, as soon as I put down “1Q84”, I started “The Glass Castle” by Jeanette Walls: I found out about this book because a family friend loved it.

That’s all for now!

Bye!

4 thoughts on “1Q84

  1. I couldn’t agree more. As far as I’m concerned, it’s about 300 pages too long. Either way, thanks for the wonderful thoughts! if you’re ever interested in some other great book reviews and musings, be sure to follow! Thanks!!!

Leave a Reply

