books · music

“The Elegance of the Hedgehog”, Florence + The Machine and Valentine’s day!

Hello!

Today I wanted to talk about a few things, so not just about a book (but I will start out talking about one!).

I’ve recently really wanted to read “The Elegance of the Hedgehog”, a novel by Muriel Barbery, a French author. This book gained a lot of success a few years back, because they made it into a movie so just about everyone read it. I didn’t read it as fast as I usually read books, maybe because I had to study for my exams or maybe because I was a very pleasent book but not really captivating. The main caracters are Renรฉe Michel, Paloma Josse and Kakuro Ozu. Renรฉe is the porter of an upscale apartment building in Paris that doesn’t want the residents to know how smart and cultured she actually is; Paloma Josse is a very intelligent 12 year old that wants to kill herself, because she feels her family isn’t capable of understanding her, since they are worried about unimportant things and Kakuro Ozu is a retired Japanese man. What bothers me the most about the novel is how Renรฉe insists that she need to be the stereotypical porter, that she cannot show other people how smart she is: she often things about philosophy, and I think that if you don’t have a little knowledge of philosophy those parts can be a bit confusing. Overall, though, I quite enjoyed reading it, although I hated the ending: I don’t want to spoil it for you, though!

Ok, so, changing the subject, a new single came out by one of my favorite bands: Florence + The Machine! The song is called “What Kind of Man”: the more you listen to it, the more you get to like it! The music video came out as well, and it was a bit confusing: I think that was what the band actually wanted: everyone can interpret it as they like. The new album comes out the 1st of June, called “How Big, How Blue, How Beautiful”: I love the name, and I think it really reflects the band and their musical style. So go and listen to the song, you won’t be dissapointed!!

Last, but not least, I wanted to talk to you about my Valentine’s day: I was in Padova because of my exams, so me and my best friend decided to treat ourselves the whole day: first we went to get our nails done! At the Rinascente (a sort of upscale mall) they were doing Dolce&Gabbana nail polish tryouts! Then we did a little bit of shopping, followed by a sushi lunch! Next, I made a Nutella Cheesecake (so so good, and the recipe is so easy!) and in the evening we went to the movies! It was a great Valentine’s day, a day to celebrate not only the love between you and your boyfriend or you with you girlfriend, but also about celebrating love between you and your friends and family!

That’s all for now!
Ily

Leave a Reply

