books

Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage

Hello! Haven’t written in a while, I’m just so overwhelmed by all my exams at university! Anyway, today I wanted to talk about a book I read just yesterday – and believe me, I read it all at once it was so good! I’m talking about “Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage” by Haruki Murakami, one of my favorite authors. I’ve read many of his books, and by far my favorite was “The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle”, but after reading “Colorless Tsukuru” I have to say I have a new favorite! I had a little reading block for a few days, not finding the right book to read, but when I picked this novel up, the block dissapeared! It’s the beautiful and wonderfully wirtten story of Tsukuru, a 36 year old man that, in order to start a new relationship with Sara and abandon his commitment issues, has to confront the friends that basically ostricized him from their group when they were 20 years old. It’s one of those novels you cannot put down, you are devoured by the curiosity of what happens next! A plus is that it isn’t a very long book. I liked it because when reading the book (and all of Murakami’s books in general) you can sense a general sadness that most of the characters have and especially a particular and singular loneliness that is derived from that kind of society. For some reason this book made me want to go to Japan, and just kind of find out for myself about this wonderful culture. I honestly didn’t think that I would love this book so much, I even gave it a 5 our of 5 stars on Goodreads, something I only did with 3 or 4 books!
Anyway, if you are craving a GREAT read, go ahead with “Colorless Tsukuru” and you won’t be dissapointed!

Bye!

Ily

One thought on “Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage

Leave a Reply

