books

The Best (and Worst) Books of 2014

Hello! I’ve made a few posts about my Goodreads Reading Challenge, and I’ve got only 5 books to go to get to my goal of 75 books for this 2014! I wanted to share with you the 5 best and 5 worst books I’ve read this year! In particular, the 5 best books that in some way changed me or had a great impact, and the worst 5 that if not terrible, didn’t get to me in any way.

Just to get on with a positive note, I wanted to start with the 5 Best Books of 2014 (they are in no particular order):

  • “Franny and Zooey” by J.D. Salinger. I loved this book. It had such an impact on what I thought about Salinger and about myself as well.
  • “Eleanor and Park” by Rainbow Rowell. Even though it might not be considered a “serious” book, this novel was so cute and romantic in a very clean and pure way. It’s one of the few YA novels I actually enjoy, because the themes Rainbow Rowell writes about are always seen from a slightly different poiny of view than other YA writers.
  • “Gone Girl” by Gillian Flynn. Don’t get me started with Gone Girl. No explaining here. Just read it. Then you’ll understand.
  • “The Lover’s Dictionary” by David Levithan. Although not the most original story, it was written in such a simple and peculiar way (each chapter was a word with an explanation from the dictionary and what that word meant for the characters of the story).
  • “Not that Kind of Girl” by Lena Dunham. Ok, I have to start with saying I love Lena Dunham and her HBO show “Girls”, and when I found out her book was coming out I freaked out. I loved it. Such and inspiration to young women everywhere!
  • Bonus book: “The Penelopiad” by Margaret Atwood. Margaret Atwood is badass (excuse my French), and if I loved “The Handmaid’s Tale”, I adored “The Penelopiad”, which is the Oddissey from Penelope’s point of view. Feminist and wonderful.

Of course, there are other books I could add to the list, but for different reasons these are the books that really stuck with me.

The 5 worst books (in no order as well):

  • “The Choice” by Nicholas Sparks. I don’t automatically hate how Nicholas Sparks writes his books, or the contents of the novels: I enjoyed “A Walk to Remember” but hated “The Notebook”, so I had mixed feelings about his novels. “The Choice” confirmed that I hate Sparks novels. Hate ’em.
  • “Less Than Zero” by Bret Easton Ellis. It wasn’t horrible, it just really wasn’t special. There are a thousand books out there that talk about the same subjects, but in a better way.
  • “The Sense of an Ending” by Julian Barnes. Meh.
  • “The Virgin Suicides” by Jeffrey Eugenides. It was written in an almost journalistic way. I didn’t really care for it, it was a good story, I would’ve preferred it written in a different way, though I understand that it is peculiar because Eugenides decided to narrate the novel in that specific way.
  • “Don’t move” by Margaret Mazzantini. Here in Italy many people think it’s a great novel. I didn’t like it much and found many discrepancies, and pretty offensive to women, too.
  • Bonus Book: The Pretty Little Liars series by Sara Shepard. I watched a few episodes of the tv shows, but didn’t really like it either. The first few books were okayish, but at the 5th or 6th there was a clear pattern repeated in all of the novels, so I got tired of them.

Some of these books weren’t that bad, I just had pretty high expectations for some of them and they just didn’t live up to them.

I’m pretty satisfied, though, because I had many books I wanted to include in the 5 best books and I had to struggle to find 5 books I disliked, so I guess I am doing something right!

Tell me what you think about these best and worst books!

Bye!

Ily

One thought on “The Best (and Worst) Books of 2014

Leave a Reply

