books · music

The importance of music while reading

Hello!

Today I wanted to talk about the importance music has for me while I read! I’m a great multi-tasker, so, for example, when I watch a movie (unless I’m at the cinema) I absolutely have to do sudoko or talk to whoever is watching the movie with me, and the same goes when I’m reading a book: either I have the tv on or I HAVE to listen to music. So, I have this weird thing that when I discover a new song, I put it on repeat until I cannot get it out of my head, so, very often, while reading a book, I’ll have the same 2 or 3 songs playing. What happens then? Whenever I listen to that or those songs, I think about the book I was reading at the time I kept playing the song.

Imagine me in 7th grade: a (very) dorky kid that had just bought Mariah Carey’s newest album (“The Emancipation of Mimi”, btw) that kept playing the same songs over AND OVER (“Joy Ride” and “Fly like a bird”) while reading “Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets”… needless to say, every single time I listen to those songs I think about Harry Potter, which is pretty hilarious!

Anyway, I think listening to music is very good for “ambience”: in fact, some authors actually provide a “dream playlist” to listen to while reading their novel: for example, Rainbow Rowell indicated the perfect songs to play while getting into “Eleanor and Park”: the music gives you the perfect “setting” and it’s so cool because not only you can imagine your own perfect movie in your head, you can also have a great soundtrack to it as well!

Right now I basically only listen to Hozier’s new (and FIRST) album, and I find that his voice is perfect to read to, because it’s so intense and beautiful, but at the same time, you can keep it in the background and concentrate on the book!

Currently I am reading David Nicholls’ new book, “Us”. I’m at the very beginning, so I don’t really have an opinion about it yet, thought I quite enjoyed the 2 books I read by Nicholls: “One Day” and “Starter for Ten”, so I imagine I’ll like this one as well.

That’s all for now!

Bye!

Ily

Leave a Reply

