books · movies

On Wes Anderson’s “The Royal Tenenbaums”

Hello! Today’s post isn’t exactly about books, though it does have something to do with them!
Tonight, thanks to my best friend’s advice, I decided to watch the movie “Moonrise Kingdom” directed by Wes Anderson. I’m actually a big fan of Anderson, and that was the fourth movie I’ve watched directed by him. I liked this movie, but didn’t actually LOVE it, although, as always, the photography and the color palette he uses are genius!

By Anderson I’ve seen “Rushmore”, “The Royal Tenenbaums” and “Grand Budapest Hotel”, other than “Moonrise Kingdom”. To be honest I have to say my favorite one of all was “Rushmore”, probably because I identified with the protagonist, a kid that doesn’t really know what he’s good at, since he is pretty much mediocre at everything.

What I really want to talk about, though, is “The Royal Tenenbaums”. Why? Because I feel that Wes Anderson has basically directed a movie that talked about the Glass Children from Salinger’s books. I’ve already posted something about “Franny and Zooey” here on my blog, but in the last couple of months, I’ve also read “Nine Stories” and “Raise high the roofbeam, Carpenters and Seymour: an Introduction” by Salinger. In these 2 books the Glass children sporadically appear, with tales about their childhood and adolescence. I absolutely loved “Franny and Zooey” and the other 2 story collections only deepened my love for the main characters. So, in “The Royal Tenenbaums” Wes Anderson does a great job in talking about a family of little geniuses, like the ones from Salinger’s stories, painting the stories with dim but beautiful colors and rendering the characters with a tint of unbelievable sadness that I think perfectly transmits what the writer wanted to make us feel while reading his masterpieces. Although in “The Royal Tenenbaums” there aren’t all the characters we actually have in Salinger’s books, and the facts aren’t the same, there is the presence of the soul of the main characters you read about, and I think that’s what makes the movie even better that what it would be without the support of fiction’s Glass family: you can totally see all the beauty and literary richness you find in Salinger, and view it on screen, without actually being completely based on “Franny and Zooey” and the rest of the family, but incredibly influenced by it.

So if you loved “Franny and Zooey”, “Nine Stories”, “Raise high the roofbeams, Carpenters and Seymour: an Introduction”, you should really watch “The Royal Tenenbaums”, or if you’ve already watched this beautiful movie, read Salinger’s books and I guarantee you won’t regret it: you wish there could be more to read!

Bye!

Ily

Leave a Reply

