Uncategorized

Breakfast at Tiffany’s

When I started reading “Breakfast at Tiffany’s” by Truman Capote, I though it would’ve been a light and breezy read, a “mind-clearing” book, similar to a beach read. It actually was quite deep and it talked about many important issues, and even dealt with issues that today haven’t been resolved (gay marriage rights, for example).

I always associated the title “Breakfast at Tiffany’s” to the movie poster, the one with Audrey Hepbourn having breakfast in front of Tiffany’s in NYC, with her LBD and pearlchoker, but really the book is about so much more.

I initially disliked Holly, forgetting her young age: she was actually just a 19 year old trying to get around in the world and making some kind of impact. Sure, she’s a bit superficial and naive (not in the good way, I’m afraid), but what could you expect from a once-bridechild from Tulip, Texas? So, even though I didn’t quite understand her ways, I started feeling sympathetic for her.

The narrator and protagonists is kind of helpless, he clearly likes her but never has the guts to tell her, and never really does anything about his feelings for her… as Joe Bell, the bartender. But his filter is necessary, because he encounters many people that have different opionions about Holly, so the reader can “get to know her” in many different ways and have an almost 360° view of the “socialite”.

I found this book very similar to The Great Gatsby in themes and also in the “failure” of that class and way of living, even though it’s set in another time period and with very different characters.

I haven’t started another book, yet, but I wanted to give “The Marriage Plot” by Jeffrey Eugenides a go! If I can’t get into it, I’ll probably re-read “To Kill a Mockingbird” by Harper Lee, since I’d like to see how I react to it at this age.

Bye!

Leave a Reply

