Uncategorized

The Bell Jar

Yesterday, after I finished “On Chesil Beach” by Ian McEwan, I started right away “The Bell Jar” by Sylvia Plath: I had read many controversial things about this book, some said it was an easy read, others the opposite, so I was kind of expecting I wouldn’t be able to get into it and enjoy it, but it was actually the opposite! Plath has such an easy and direct way of writing and telling the story (actually, part of HER own story), making the novel an (almost!) easy read, even though it’s a pretty hard story of her mental health and how she viewed the world.

I think I enjoyed it so much because the narrator, Esther, makes the reader almost forget about her problems, since it isn’t as dark of a novel as I thought. I guess it’s not one of those novels that completely changes your views on things (like Franny and Zooey was for me, for example), but it’s a clear depiction of the 1960s in the USA.

So I actually started Breakfast at Tiffany’s by Truman Capote! I never saw the movie, so I guess I’m not influenced by it – which is always a GOOD thing! For now I like it, even though I don’t like Holly very much and I’m not really into it; but since it is such a short read, I’ll get through it without problems!

Tomorrow I’m going back to Padova – can’t wait!

Bye!

Leave a Reply

