Uncategorized

Franny and Zooey part 2

Got at the end of Franny and Zooey, and the only thing I can say and/or think is that if I though Salinger was a genius reading The Catcher in the Rye, now I don’t even know a word capable of describing him.

In this book he is so insightful while talking about the crisis of talented young adults that it’s almost painful to meditate on how many similarities I can see between me and the Glass children (not that I think of myself as an artist). It’s only logical that I cannot wait to read “Raise High the Roof beam, Carpenter and Seymour, an Introduction” along with “Nine Stories”.

For now I decided to give “On Chesil Beach” by Ian McEwan a go, even though it’s not thrilling me: I really liked The Cement Garden and I somewhat enjoyed the movie “Atonement” based on his novel, though I couldn’t get through the read (I probably liked the film because James McAvoy and Keira Knighley were in it), so probably this “On Chesil Beach” will be similar to my experience with “Atonment”, but I think I’ll go through with it since it’s such a short book.

This is a week of reading, reading and reading! I’m hoping to get ahead on my (at least!) GoodRead 50 book in a year challenge!

New most-listened-to-song: Skinny Love by Bon Iver. Sometimes I have trouble thinking about HOW did I not discover this song earlier! It’s a real mistery, because it’s so lovely and beautiful ย but at the same time so passionate and sad… and it’s jut peaceful and I can sing it as loud as I can without getting tired of it.

 

Enough!

Bye.

Leave a Reply

